My mother pointed out to me a few years ago how biased the judges on Chopped seemed to her. At the time, I thought she was overreacting but having watched a lot of Chopped shows over the past 2 years, I have come to the realization that she is right. I even Googled the issue and discovered that she and I are not the only fans of the show that felt this way. There is a definite bias against minorities and women, and for White males, particularly from the White male judges. The only male judge who tries to be fair is Aaron Sanchez.

The women are usually not so biased either but the White men…yes, they are. Even when the minorities and women have food that looks far more edible presentation-wise, or receive rave reviews from the other judges, the White males have nothing good to say or they say things that are slightly positive but round it off with a negative punch. This happens time and again. They should have more minority and female judges on Chopped, maybe then those who are not so lucky to be born White males would have a chance at winning.

I’d like to beat the crap out of Chris, Scott,
Mark and Geoff…and Marcus too at times!

This is merely one example of how Reality TV is slanted to favor the Caucasian majority. Just because there are far more Americans of European extraction in this country does not mean that they should win most of the competition shows, get their own reality shows, and have everything handed to them on a silver platter.

Frankly, I am fed up with Whites getting their way all the time. That’s why when my redneck boyfriend complains about bad luck, I don’t feel sorry for him and I tell him so because 1) White people can get ahead in this world by dint of their skin color; 2) There shouldn’t be any poor Whites; 3) White people hold all the power in Western society.

Recently, I watched an episode of Chopped where the African guy clearly had better food than the White guy, from the critiques and presentation. Yet the White guy won! (Of course, it was some of the notorious racists who were doing the judging so I should have known who’d win). My advice to minorities and females? Stay away from competing on Chopped. You’re better off doing Master Chef.

Leave a Reply

