I am a horror fanatic. Even as a child, my favorite movie genre was horror – I wasn’t much into reading back then other than stories about horses or teenage detectives – and while I was often so scared that I hid my face behind my hands and peered through my fingers to see the action, I really enjoyed horror films, actually loved being frightened so.

These days, I don’t fear movies of any type – now you have more to be afraid of walking down your friendly neighborhood street than watching a horror flick – and paranormal shows make me laugh more than anything. Don’t you find the Dead Files a bit on the comical side even when they are being so serious? TheReveal always gets to me, I just start chuckling aloud and shaking my head.

However, there are still some horror films that make me think – while others only leave me cold as ice and often bored, yawning during the last 45 minutes and wondering when the shit will be over. Once I start watching a movie, I must finish it no matter how awful it is, such as those terrible flicks I keep on a spindle with each DVD marked with a frowning face which means it’s not something I care to ever watch again. I can name at least 20 of them right here but I won’t bother.

Being that it is October and Halloween is just around the corner, I have decided to post my favorite horror movie quotes here from some of my most beloved horror films, the kind I can watch more than once for instance (as opposed to those frowny face DVDs I tend to avoid like the plague).

Candyman: They will say that I have shed innocent blood. What’s blood for, if not for shedding?


Margaret White: He’s gonna laugh at you. They’re all gonna laugh at you!
Carrie: No one’s gonna laugh at me, Mama.


April: When the music stops, you’ll see him in the mirror standing behind you.


Demon: What an excellent day for an exorcism.

Father Damien Karras: You would like that?
Demon: Intensely.
Father Damien Karras: But wouldn’t that drive you out of Regan?
Demon: It would bring us together.
Father Damien Karras: You and Regan?
Demon: You and us.


Dr. Sam Loomis: I met him, fifteen years ago. I was told there was nothing left. No reason, no conscience, no understanding; even the most rudimentary sense of life or death, good or evil, right or wrong. I met this six-year-old child, with this blank, pale, emotionless face and, the blackest eyes…the devil’s eyes. I spent eight years trying to reach him, and then another seven trying to keep him locked up because I realized what was living behind that boy’s eyes was purely and simply…evil.

Louis: That morning I was not yet a vampire, and I saw my last sunrise. I remember it completely, and yet I can’t recall any sunrise before it. I watched the whole magnificence of the dawn for the last time as if it were the first. And then I said farewell to sunlight, and set out to become what I became.


Annie Wilkes: I’m your number one fan. There’s nothing to worry about. You’re going to be just fine. I will take good care of you. I’m your number one fan.

Hannibal Lecter: A census taker once tried to test me. I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice chianti.


“Boy, the next word that comes out of your mouth better be some brilliant fuckin’ Mark Twain shit. ‘Cause it’s definitely getting chiseled on your tombstone.”Otis Driftwood


“I am Dracula. I bid you welcome.”
Dracula 



Leave a Reply

