It’s that time of year again when radio stations everywhere start playing ‘The Time Warp’. I never heard of this song nor the movie it comes from, The Rocky Horror Picture Show’, until I was 14. This was the era of the best music videos – a period that will never come again – with a local channel that aired these ‘mini-movies’ as I often thought of them, all day and night during 1984. It was cooler than MTV which at that time aired music that was mostly geared towards a White audience (mainly hard rock and heavy metal, with the occasional Michael Jackson, Prince, or Duran Duran thrown in for good measure).

It was via this local channel that I first saw the video for ‘The Time Warp’ which was just the clip from that part of ‘The Rocky Horror Picture Show’ that features the crazy song and even nuttier dance that goes along with it. The lyrics are wild, and those performing the dance look even wilder. ‘The Rocky Horror Picture Show’ began as a musical in 1973 and was adapted for the screen in 1975. Though it was initially condemned by film critics, the film rose to meteoric success and now it is considered the longest running release in theatrical history.

‘The Time Warp’ has now become a Halloween classic and I always hear it at one time or another during October, usually when I am shopping in a store somewhere. Some of the people I follow on Twitter (Bill Moseley for one) will post the link to the video which is featured on Youtube. I never liked the song or video until I got older and became more nostalgic for the sounds of my youth, unhappy though my adolescence was. My mood changes swiftly whenever I hear a song from the 70s or the 80s, which to me are the decades with the greatest music ever.

Here are the lyrics to ‘The Time Warp’ – may you never mumble the wrong words when singing this loony tune ever again!

(Riff Raff) It’s astounding
Time is fleeting
Madness takes it’s toll…

(Magenta) Ahh…

(Riff Raff) But listen closely…

(Magenta) Not for very much longer…

(Riff Raff) I’ve got to keep control.
I remember doing the Time Warp.
Drinking those moments when
The blackness would hit me.

(Riff Raff & Magenta) And the void would be calling.

(Guests) Let’s do the Time Warp again.
Let’s do the Time Warp again.

(Narrator) It’s just a jump to the left.

(Guests) And then a step to the right.

(Narrator) With your hand on your hips.

(Guests) You bring your knees in tight.
But it’s the pelvic thrust.
That really drives you insane.
Let’s do the Time Warp again.
Let’s do the Time Warp again.
(Magenta) It’s so dreamy
Oh, fantasy free me
So you can’t see me
No not at all.
In another dimension
With voyeuristic intention.
Well secluded I see all…

(Riff Raff) With a bit of a mind flip…

(Magenta) You’re into a time slip…

(Riff Raff) And nothing can ever be the same.

(Magenta) You’re spaced out on sensation.

(Riff Raff) Like you’re under sedation.

(Guests) Let’s do the Time Warp again.
Let’s do the Time Warp again.
(Columbia) Well, I was walking down the street
Just having a think
When a snake of a guy
Gave me an evil wink.
Well it shook me up
It took me by surprise
He had a pick-up truck
And the devil’s eyes
He stared at me
And I felt a change
Time meant nothing
Never would again.
(Guests) Let’s do the Time Warp again.
Let’s do the Time Warp again.

(Narrator) It’s just a jump to the left.

(Guests) And then a step to the right.

(Narrator) With your hands on your hips.

(Guests) You bring you knees in tight.
But it’s the pelvic thrust…
That really drives you insane
Let’s do the Time Warp again.
Let’s do the Time Warp again.
Let’s do the Time Warp again

(Columbia) Ah! Oh! Oh! Yeoooww…
Ahhhh.
(Guests) Let’s do the Time Warp again.
Let’s do the Time Warp again.

(Narrator) It’s just a jump to the left.

(Guests) And then a step to the right.

(Narrator) With your hands on your hips.

(Guests) You bring your knees in tight.
But it’s the pelvic thrust
That really drives you insane.
Let’s do the Time Warp again.
Let’s do the Time Warp again.
Songwriters
O’BRIEN, RICHARD
Published by
Lyrics © Warner/Chappell Music, Inc.

Song Discussions is protected by U.S. Patent 9401941. Other patents pending.

Leave a Reply

