Pro 

Should Law Enforcement Be Allowed to Use Racial Profiling?

“Well, I think there can be profiling. I mean… If they thought there was something wrong with that group and they saw what was happening, and they didn’t want to call the police because they didn’t want to be profiling, I think that’s pretty bad. People are dead. A lot of people are dead right now. So everybody wants to be politically correct, and that’s part of the problem that we have with our country… We are having a problem with radical — with the radicals in the Muslim group. Let’s not kid ourselves. And you can say it, or you don’t have to say it. And maybe you won’t even want to. But I’ve been saying it loud and strong. So if you have people coming out of mosques with hatred and with death in their eyes and on their minds, we’re going to have to do something, John. We can’t just say, ‘We’re not going to look at it.’ Now I made that statement a number of weeks ago. It took a lot of — you know, a lot of, whatever, a lot of people were not exactly thrilled with it. And now everybody seems to agree with me… You have people that have to be tracked. If they’re Muslims, they’re Muslims. But you have people that have to be tracked. And we’ve better be –I use the word vigilance. We have to show vigilance. We have to have it. And if we don’t, we’re foolish people.”

Con

Should Any Public Colleges or Universities Be Tuition-Free?

“Well, there’s no such thing as free education, because you know that ultimately somebody else is going to be paying for that education. And, so, as a, I can’t believe I’m saying this as a politician, I’m not a politician, but as somebody that’s now in politics, in the political world, I’d love to say ‘free education!’ but, again, if somebody gets free education, all of the people paying their rates are going to go up… You take a look at how college costs are rising and there’s no reason for it. They are letting them go up and the problem is the students are getting crushed because, again, the government just keeps giving them more and more money and the students give them to the college. So it’s not fair. We’re going to really look into that because we have to keep it down. We have to keep it down. Some of the colleges do a good job. Many of them, I don’t think they even care what the costs are because they get so much money. We’re going to do something for the students. We’re going to have something with extensions and lower interest rates and a lot of good things.” 

Now Con 

Should Undocumented Immigrants in the United States Be Allowed to Become Legal Residents?

“Our message to the world will be this. You cannot obtain legal status or become a citizen of the United States by illegally entering our country. Can’t do it.

This declaration alone will help stop the crisis of illegal crossings and illegal overstays, very importantly. People will know that you can’t just smuggle in, hunker down and wait to be legalized. It’s not going to work that way. Those days are over…

For those here illegally today, who are seeking legal status, they will have one route and one route only. To return home and apply for reentry like everybody else, under the rules of the new legal immigration system that I have outlined above.”

Pro 

Should Colleges and Universities Use Affirmative Action for Admissions?

“CHUCK TODD: Affirmative action. Should we keep it? Yes or no?

 

DONALD TRUMP: I’m fine with affirmative action. I mean, I think–

CHUCK TODD: Should it be expanded? Or should it… be limited?

DONALD TRUMP: Well, you know, you have to also go free market. You have to go capability. You have to do a lot of things. But I’m fine with affirmative action. We’ve lived with it for a long time. And I lived with it for a long time. And I’ve have great relationships with lots of people. So I’m fine with it.”

Con

Was the US Supreme Court Decision Legalizing Same-Sex Marriage a Good Decision?

“[Chris Wallace] You say now that the Supreme Court has ruled that same-sex marriage is the law of the land and that any politician who talks about wanting to amend the Constitution is just playing politics. Are you saying it’s time to move on?

TRUMP: No, I’m saying this. It has been ruled up. It has been there. If I’m a, you know, if I’m elected, I would be very strong on putting certain judges on the bench that I think maybe could change things…

They have ruled on it. I wish that it was done by the state. I don’t like the way they ruled. I disagree with the Supreme Court from the standpoint they should have given the state — it should be a states’ rights issue. And that’s the way it should have been ruled on, Chris, not the way they did it.


This is a very surprising ruling. And I – I can see changes coming down the line, frankly. But I would have much preferred that they ruled at a state level and allowed the states to make those rulings themselves.

WALLACE: But – but just to button this up very quickly, sir, are you saying that if you become president, you might try to appoint justices to overrule the decision on same-sex marriage?

TRUMP: I would strongly consider that, yes.” 

Pro 

Should the United States Send Ground Troops to Fight ISIS?

“DONALD TRUMP: Well, I want to take away their wealth. And, as you know, for years I’ve been saying, ‘Don’t go into Iraq.’ They went into Iraq. They destabilized the Middle East. It was a big mistake. Okay, now we’re there. And you have ISIS. And I said this was going to happen. I said, ‘Iran will take over Iraq,’ which is happening as sure as you’re sitting there. And ISIS is taking over a lot of the oil and certain areas of Iraq. And I said you take away their wealth, that you go and knock the hell out of the oil, take back the oil. We take over the oil, which we should have done in the first place…

CHUCK TODD: What you’re talking is–ground troops.

DONALD TRUMP: That’s okay.” 

Leave a Reply

