One of my favorite authors is Stephen King. I first got into his books when I was 15 and read ‘Salem’s Lot, which remains to this day one of the best vampire tales I’ve ever read – I even prefer it to Anne Rice’s Interview With The Vampire, etc (her vampires tend to philosophize too damn much for me). I haven’t read every one of his published tomes however, as some of them – The Dark Tower series for example – aren’t my cuppa, and a few of them get me so bogged down in boredom that I can’t finish them (these are underlined in the list below) though I still own the books. I used to own It but I hated it (no pun intended) so much that I traded it for Pet Sematary, a much better book and movie.

Mr. King tends to use a lot of racial slurs, particularly the word ‘nigger’, and while I agree with some of his ‘No. 1’ fans that this is the way some people speak, not all of them do and a lot of the slurs are used in a manner that I find wholly unnecessary (such as with the short story ‘The Monkey’) but that’s entirely my opinion. He is pretty liberal as far as outlook and politics but then again, the ‘n’ word is totally not politically correct.

The following is a list of the novels that I presently have in my collection, which may change as I add more to it during the next year (those in bold are the books I can read over and over again):

11/22/63 (This one will certainly be re-read very soon)

‘Salem’s Lot

Bag of Bones

Black House

Carrie

Cell

Christine

Cujo

The Dark Half

Desperation

Doctor Sleep (I just finished this one a few weeks ago and found it superior to The Shining)

Dreamcatcher

Duma Key

Firestarter

From a Buick 8

Gerald’s Game

The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon

The Green Mile 

Insomnia

Misery

Mr. Mercedes

Needful Things

Pet Sematary

Rose Madder

The Shining

The Talisman

The Tommyknockers

Under The Dome

Bachman Books:

Blaze

The Long Walk

Roadwork

Thinner

Short story collections:

The Bazaar of Bad Dreams

Different Seasons

Everything’s Eventual

Four Past Midnight

Just After Sunset

Night Shift

Nightmares & Dreamscapes

Skeleton Crew

There are some of his shorts and novellas that I like better than others, one being ‘The Mist’ and another being ‘The Road Virus Heads North’. Others include ‘The Lawnmower Man’ – nothing like that awful movie of the same title – ‘One For The Road’, ‘Apt Pupil’, ‘Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption’, ‘The Raft’, ‘Children of The Corn’, ‘Sometimes They Come Back’. and ‘The Man in The Black Suit’. A few of them I despised – ‘Lunch at The Gotham Cafe’ being a prime example.

One of these days I may contact Mr. King about making a movie from one of his short stories. Yes, most of them really are fantastic (if you’re into that sort of thing) and I will always treasure those books and short story collections of his that are in my possession.

Leave a Reply

