“Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit, but the highest form of intelligence.”

― Oscar Wilde

I believe sarcasm is healthy. I see nothing wrong with sarcastic comments because I have always been wittily sarcastic myself, even as a child. When a family friend joined the army, I told him: “You’re in the army now, you’re in the army now, you’ll never get rich, you son of a bitch, you’re in the army now!” All the adults, the guy in question included, laughed except my grandmother, who was the only person to scold me about ‘cussing’. I didn’t know ‘son of a bitch’ was a cuss word at that time, I had only heard an adult sing the phrase in some old war movie and thought it was cool to say.

My natural-born sarcasm, when it’s unimpeded, can be a bit overbearing at times and I’m the first to admit that.  – Tom Bergeron

I’ll speak for myself, but there’s a lot of humor to be found in sarcasm and darkness. You talk to any paramedic, they survive by developing a pretty off-kilter sense of humor. – Nicolas Cage

Sarcasm helps me overcome the harshness of the reality we live, eases the pain of scars and makes people smile. – Mahmoud Darwish

As a former writer for the ‘National Lampoon,’ I’ve probably contributed to the sea of sarcasm in which we live. – P. J. O’Rourke

My dream part would be to play Mitt Romney’s sarcastic black maid. We could call it ‘Mammy & Me.’ – Natasha Leggero

I’m a sarcastic person, and people don’t get my humor sometimes. – Sarah Hyland

My mom was sarcastic about men. She would tell me Adam was the rough draft and Eve was the final product. She was a feminist minister, an earth mom who wore a bra only on Sundays. – Daphne Zuniga

Being the offspring of English teachers is a mixed blessing. When the film star says to you, on the air, ‘It was a perfect script for she and I,’ inside your head you hear, in the sarcastic voice of your late father, ‘Perfect for she, eh? And perfect for I, also?’ – Dick Cavett

Oscar Wilde was the epitome of a sarcastic wit, Most of the quotes attributed to him (which I have included below) are the height of sarcasm, and I have Tweeted many on Twitter and even posted a few to Facebook though it appears that sarcasm is lost on most of the simpletons that have Facebook accounts – either people have gotten dumber or they were never smart to begin with (as I suspect).

My Top 10 sarcastic quotes from Oscar Wilde, who if he were alive today would be a member of the Rainbow Nation for sure, waving a multi-hued flag & surrounded by fag hags in a coffee shop in San Francisco or some other queer-laden city:

1. I think that God, in creating man, somewhat overestimated his ability.

2. The world is a stage, but the play is badly cast.

3. The only thing to do with good advice is pass it on. It is never any use to oneself.

4. Some cause happiness wherever they go; others whenever they go.

5. When I was young I thought that money was the most important thing in life; now that I am old I know that it is.

6. True friends stab you in the front.

7. Fashion is a form of ugliness so intolerable that we have to alter it every six months.

8. There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about.

9. Genius is born—not paid.

10. The old believe everything, the middle-aged suspect everything, the young know everything.

And here’s a Dorothy Parker (1927 issue of Life) quote about Oscar Wilde:

If, with the literate, I am
Impelled to try an epigram,
I never seek to take the credit;
We all assume that Oscar said it.

Leave a Reply

