Swiss Youth

As my readers know, I have been to Europe several times – 1999, 2000, 2001, and in 2010 (with hopes of returning before 2020). I have my favorite European cities and my least favorites, and then there are the countries and their people. I have visited 12 nations in the Old World so far, with plans to see more in the future (especially Scandinavia since I have 8% of that DNA in my ancestry) and I have them listed below from my most favored to my least liked.

  1. Switzerland
  2. Austria
  3. Germany
  4. Czech Republic
  5. Monaco
  6. Netherlands
  7. Italy
  8. France
    French Youth
  9. Belgium
  10. Vatican City
  11. Spain
  12. England
To be fair to England, I have only been to London (4 times) but it’s a really big city and I just don’t care for larger cities the way I do the smaller towns. I am particularly partial to the little villages. The people that inhabit these places are another story entirely, however. If it weren’t for the beauty of some of the countries and cities I have toured, I would have written them off because of their citizens.
Typical Italians
For instance, I do not care for the French nor the Italians. I think it’s an anti-foreigner vibe I get from the French, and the Italians are just as bad, in my opinion. Some of them would actually laugh at the Aussies and Kiwis when they asked a question of the Italians regarding a menu, restrooms, etc. Then there is the body odor problem…! Do these people just get up and sit on the bidet for a few minutes or simply don’t believe in keeping their armpits deodorized or what? Must be a type of cultural thing.
Tall ass Dutch
The cleanest countries had the friendliest or at least the better mannered inhabitants, at least as far as I am concerned. I found the Germans to be the nicest people by far, with the Austrians second, and the Brits third (very polite, extremely helpful unlike many of my own country people). Swiss, Dutch, and Spaniards were okay, the French can be downright rude – though I personally did not experience this, others I was in the company of certainly did – and the Italians…what can be said about them? They were sort of between the Germans and the French, depending on gender (with the men being friendlier than the women, most of whom were some pretty ugly hags if you ask me).
Czech Girls
I went to the Czech Republic for my first time in 2010, and I found the people mostly pleasant – no hard stares as I had feared, no kidnapping to be taken away to be the victim of billionaire killers, no shaven head Fascists marching and shouting anti-foreigner slogans. I had a very good time there and I would love to go back and visit the places I didn’t get a chance to on my first go round.
So how do I rate the Europeans on a scale of Friendliest to Rudest or Most Impolite or just So-So? Here follows my list. I added residents of Vatican City with Italy and Monaco with France. They are pretty much the same!
  1. Germans
  2. Austrians
  3. English
  4. Czechs
  5. Italians (Vatican City inhabitants included)
  6. Belgians
  7. Dutch
  8. Spaniards
    Spanish Dudes
  9. Swiss
  10. French (Monegasques as well)
Leave a Reply

