tattoo is a form of body modification, where a design is made by inserting ink, dyes and pigments, either indelible or temporary, into the dermis layer of the skin to change the pigment.

I was brought up to believe that the only types of people to get tattoos were military men and trash, usually of the White variety. I never even considered getting a tattoo for myself until I was in my late 20s, and by that time I was seriously contemplating becoming a tattoo artist. When I took a job assessment test for an employability class, the only career that I scored top points in was tattoo artist. I regret not taking an apprenticeship that I was offered by a local tattoo shop, but $5000 was a lot of money for me then – it still is – and I had read in several tattoo magazines that one should never, ever pay for an apprenticeship!

 

I have cousins with more than a few tats, and my fiance has several – including one of my name with some red roses. I’d harbored deep regrets for him getting that tat, the tattoo artist even asked him if he was certain about getting it, but he went ahead and now, even with our problems of breaking up & getting back together and now this domestic issue, I am not sorry he got the tattoo.

Tattoos are a work of art upon the skin and usually have the most important meanings to those who wear them. I’ve seen memorial tats, birth celebration tats on mothers and fathers, and even tattoos that reveal the wearer’s religious beliefs. I once thought of getting a Wiccan tat but for some reason, I changed my mind even though I had the money to pay for it.

Even though I am nearing the half century mark, I may just go ahead, take the plunge, and become a tattoo artist finally.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

