The Americanization of the world has been a fear of non-US residents & citizens since the end of the Cold War, perhaps even before then. While it was the ‘Negrification’ of Germany and Aryan Europe that frightened Hitler – in addition to Jewish domination, both of which have actually come about (particularly the latter here in America) – most people are scared of a world that is led by the United States and for good reason. High crime, racism, police brutality, senseless violence, and most of all a degenerating culture, speaks volumes about the state of America today; therefore, any country that allows a form of Americana into their own culture should be afraid of a declining moral compass.

When I first went to France, I saw this graffito on a wall: $ = 666. No one came out and said to me or any of my fellow tourists, “Americans, go home!” as a Frenchman said to our Northern neighbors – “Canadians, go home!” Australians were given rude stares and even received a nasty comment by an obvious Britisher, and a young lady from New Zealand was laughed at by Italians in a cafe when she asked if she could use the restroom. They had not treated me that way.

However, I feel confident in stating here that most of the non-Americans on the planet, while there are certain aspects of American culture they admire and even desire, they do not want the United States meddling in the business of their own nations and forcing its ways upon them, especially the Islamic states – and who can blame them when you look at how low Americans have sunk lately? I mean, they elected a reality TV star, a non-politician, into the most powerful position in the land!

Here is what Bowie himself had to say about the song in a 1999 press release:

It’s not as truly hostile about Americans as say “Born in the U.S.A.“: it’s merely sardonic. I was traveling in Java when [its] first McDonald’s went up: it was like, “for fuck’s sake.” The invasion by any homogenized culture is so depressing, the erection of another Disney World in, say, Umbria, Italy, more so. It strangles the indigenous culture and narrows expression of life.

I’m Afraid of Americans

David Bowie & Brian Eno

Johnny’s in America
Low techs at the wheel
Nobody needs anyone
They don’t even just pretend
Johnny’s in America
I’m afraid of Americans
I’m afraid of the world
I’m afraid I can’t help it
I’m afraid I can’t
I’m afraid of Americans
I’m afraid of the world
I’m afraid I can’t help it
I’m afraid I can’t

I’m afraid of Americans
Johnny’s in America
Johnny wants a brain
Johnny wants to suck on a Coke
Johnny wants a woman
Johnny wants to think of a joke
Johnny’s in America
I’m afraid of Americans
I’m afraid of the world
I’m afraid I can’t help it
I’m afraid I can’t
I’m afraid of Americans
I’m afraid of the world
I’m afraid I can’t help it
I’m afraid I can’t
I’m afraid of Americans
Johnny’s in America
Johnny looks up at the stars
Johnny combs his hair
And Johnny wants pussy in cars
Johnny’s in America
Johnny’s in America

I’m afraid of Americans

I’m afraid of the world
I’m afraid I can’t help it
I’m afraid I can’t

I’m afraid of Americans
I’m afraid of the world
I’m afraid I can’t help it
I’m afraid I can’t
I’m afraid of Americans
God is an American
God is an American
I’m afraid of Americans
I’m afraid of the world
I’m afraid I can’t help it
I’m afraid I can’t
I’m afraid of Americans
I’m afraid of the world
I’m afraid I can’t help it
I’m afraid I can’t
Yeah, I’m afraid of Americans
I’m afraid of the words
I’m afraid I can’t help it
I’m afraid I can’t
I’m afraid of Americans

Johnny’s an American
Johnny’s an American
Johnny’s an American
Johnny’s an American
Johnny’s an American

You know what, Mr. Bowie, wherever you may be? I’m American but I’m afraid of Americans too.

Leave a Reply

