ma·te·ri·al·ist
məˈtirēələst/
noun
  1. 1.
    a person who considers material possessions and physical comfort as more important than spiritual values.
    “greedy materialists lusting for consumer baubles”
adjective
  1. 1.
    considering material possessions and physical comfort as more important than spiritual values.
    “a greedy materialist population”
 
gold dig·ger
ɡōld ˈdiɡər/
noun

informal
plural noun: gold-diggers; plural noun: gold diggers
  1. a person who dates others purely to extract money from them, in particular a woman who strives to marry a wealthy man.

Some time ago, I wrote about how certain commercials reveal the crass materialism of women. Just Fab, Shoe Dazzle, Ebates, and Stitch Fix are the main four, though I’ve seen a few others and I’m sure there are dozens out there. As if men don’t shop, spend money, or glory in capitalism. The subscrip shoe services really piss me off. Who wants to hear from women who are so status-conscious that they have more than 100, 250, or 400 shoes in their collection? Who are they trying to impress? I guess some of them are wanting to best Imelda Marcos’ record of owning the most shoes. Hell, you can only wear one pair at a damn time.

I have never been a material girl. Jewelry, fancy shoes, designer clothes…not interested. I think I must have been the worst dressed teenage girl of all time. Even my relatives – especially my grandmother and mother – wondered why I was so hell-bent on being unfashionable. I never wore earrings, rings, or necklaces to school or anywhere else. I do care how I present myself to the world, and I never go out wearing a scarf over my head or rollers in my hair or sans makeup – I feel so naked without it – but all that bling just isn’t me.

I have been researching the matter of materialism and gold diggers and surprisingly enough, found enough data from experts that support the fact that men are actually more materialistic than women. I can definitely believe it, particularly where Black men are concerned. I have dated 7 men since I was 25 (most for only a few short months), and the Black men were far more interested in their cars and movies than anything else, other than getting into my panties. The Hispanics weren’t much different. Only the White guys treated me in a gentlemanly manner, other than my current beau, who was bred by rednecks so…and still, he is far more chivalrous than the Black men, because he isn’t just after sex.

Are you highly ambitious and competitive? It could mean you’re also more materialistic. Australian research from the 1990s found materialist values and a possessions-based definition of success share common characteristics with type-A behaviors, including competitiveness and aggression. A 2008 study published in the Journal of Pacific Rim Psychology reiterated the finding that the desire to accumulate wealth and possessions is related to Type-A qualities.

Can money buy you love? Not so much, and according to a study published in the Journal Of Couple & Marriage Therapy, materialism is actually correlated with unhappiness in marriages. Researchers studied more than 1,700 couples to find that those in which both partners had high levels of materialism exhibited lower marital quality than couples with lower materialism scores. Previous studies have found that students with higher extrinsic, materialistic values tend to have lower-quality relationships, and to feel less connected to others.

Research suggests that materialistic values are fueled by insecurity. A 2002 study published in the journal Psychology and Marketing found that those who chronically doubt themselves and their own self-worth tend to be more materialistic.

Our collective definition of the American Dream is slowly starting to change from one of materialism to a more purposeful idea of what it means to live the good life. According to the 2013 LifeTwist study, only around one-quarter of Americans still believe that wealth determines success.

My boyfriend isn’t materialistic either, but his mother certainly is and so’s mine as far as jewelry goes, Both women grew up poor, so it is understandable that they would put such an emphasis on having a lot of material goods. My brother, youngest sister, and a female cousin are also very materialistic. My brother is always striving to obtain the latest electronic gadgets, my sister has enough shoes to stock her own store – and she’s a member of Just Fab! – and my cousin lived at home into her 40s just so that she could spend most of her money (she only paid the every other month water bill and the cable) on clothes, bling, and partying. 

While I would agree with one article that far more men than women are materialists, women do take the crown for being gold diggers. Remember Anna Nicole Smith and her elderly, wheelchair-bound husband? If that wasn’t gold digging, I don’t know what is. What about Jada Pinckett marrying Will Smith? Gold digger! She was never List A, never a popular actress at all. Same goes for Katie Holmes after being wined & dined by Tom Cruise, who probably went after her because the Church of Scientology told him to do so. Gold diggers, plain and simple.

Leave a Reply

