“The most disrespected person in America is the black woman. The most unprotected person in America is the black woman. The most neglected person in America is the black woman.” – Malcolm X

There has never been any respect in America for the Black female. We have been looked down on by every segment of society, from White men to White women to Black men. We are the ‘least attractive’ according to most men of any race, and the least likely to be married of any group of women. We are considered loud, masculine, sexually loose, overweight, and ‘nappy-headed’. We are not good enough for Hollywood unless we are ‘light skinned’ or appear ‘mixed’. We are the Jezebels, the Sapphires and the Mammies.

Rapper French Montana attacked a black woman on Twitter after she’d tweeted dismissively about him. “The fact that French Montana thinks anyone cares about him,” she tweeted. Her words weren’t directed at the rapper, he wasn’t @-ed in her tweet. She was just one of several people who’d tweeted something anti-French Montana. But for whatever reason, the rapper decided to lash out viciously at this particular tweet.

“U musty crusty dusty rusty ass hoe,” Montana tweeted in response. “With them nappy ass poetic justice braids take your cum drinking Dick banging ass somewhere n be humble.”

Montana’s offensively over-the-top response to a lukewarm tweet was just the latest in a string of incidents over the past couple of months involving celebrities publicly disparaging black women. The incidents reflect a specific sort of racism. One of the most notable came when controversial Fox News personality Bill O’Reilly appeared on the talk show Fox and Friends in March and was asked about Rep. Maxine Waters’ recent speech lambasting Donald Trump.

Would French Montana – whom I have never heard of until I read this article – or Bill O’Reilly have insulted a White woman in this manner? No. Definitely not. White women are, to the non-White male, a trophy, a ‘status symbol’ of their entree into a higher level of society than they were born into. And while White men will put down women due to the misogyny that all males suffer from, they will never insult White women the way that they do women of color, particularly Blacks and Latinas.

Why is it this way? What is it about women of other ethnicities that make them so much prettier and feminine and appealing to men? Why are Black women given such a low status in this country (and in others)? It’s not the same with Black men, except in Asia where dark skin on anyone is looked down on as ‘low class’ due to the fact that the peasants in Asia toiled in the fields, where the hot sun darkened them, while higher class people stayed inside, their pale skin untouched by the sun’s rays.

Then there is the Eurocentric Standard of Beauty, brought about by centuries of domination by the big European world powers. I was once a victim of this mentality myself, as a child. When I was first given a Black baby doll – a Baby Heartbeat – I thought she was ugly and didn’t want to play with her. I wanted only blonde, blue-eyed baby dolls, not brown-skinned, brown-eyed, kinky-haired babies. I didn’t look at Black Barbies or Christy dolls the same, as they had European features and long, wavy hair, often with brown streaks, and were just as pretty as the flaxen-haired Barbies and Skippers.

I couldn’t understand, when I was younger, why White girls had long hair but Black girls did not. I also didn’t understand why the little Indian girl named Avni had straight dark hair when her skin was darker than mine. I used to pull on my braids, thinking that would cause them to grow longer faster. I have written in previous posts how I was teased by the Black kids when I was growing up, and was far more accepted by the White kids. To this day, I have problems with other Blacks – mainly Black women – stemming from my childhood treatment by members of my own race. This started when I was in the second grade and continued on through to high school. (I never had such issues with others about my racial background and skin color in college.)

My youngest sister, who is part Hispanic, had the same problems with Black girls as a child, and this also went on through high school. She even had issues on the job when she worked at Dell, as did I in a way, though her enemies was so jealous that it was obvious even to the line leaders. Women can be the biggest cunts on the planet, which is why I don’t have any female friends and I avoid getting close to women on jobs or in classes or anywhere else. I don’t need or want that drama in my life. I have enough to deal with as it is. My sisters both have female friends, even close buddies, while I do not.

I know it can be difficult having to be a dark-skinned woman with kinky locks in a world that favors pale skin and silken tresses, but hey, don’t take it out on your fellow Black women because the Fates dealt you a burdensome hand! You just have to make the most of it and live with what you’ve got. Unless you have money and can transform yourself via surgery the way Lil Kim, Lark Voorhies, and other self-hating celebrities have done. So what if many Black male celebs are seen with White or Asian or Hispanic women? The majority of Black men still prefer to date and marry Black women, so Black females should see that as a plus. You probably aren’t ever going to meet any of those celebs anyway, and they’d probably be the biggest assholes on the planet – celebrities have egos bigger than Jupiter,

Even if you look like Alex Wek or Hattie McDaniels or some other female that men don’t usually go for, who cares? When you look in that mirror, call yourself Beautiful. Say, I AM BEAUTIFUL. And say it like you mean it. If you overhear someone putting you down because of your looks, ignore that ass. I have been called ‘high maintenance’ and ‘redbone’ and ‘high yella’, I just let that vomit roll off and keep on going. I honestly no longer care what people I don’t even know – and don’t care to know – think of me. What I feel about myself is the most important, and I love myself, nappy hair and all!

Leave a Reply

