I have always had a dream of living out West. At first, these dreams were ruled by a place once known as Hollywoodland, but when I realized that I had zero talent as far as acting, singing, and dancing, I began to allow visions of other places to enter into my fantasies. Then I traveled over to Europe and everything changed for about a decade. Europe became my new dream home. I made lists of towns and cities where I would consider setting up camp – London, Paris, Munich, Vienna, and Amsterdam were the first on my list, then I deleted those for Edam, Nice, Assisi, Luzern, Heidelberg, and Brussels. Finally, I decided on Salzburg, Dijon, Bruges, Dresden, Cesky Krumlov, Prague, and Zaanse Schans.

Europe is now a fond memory, no thanks to the recent surge in terrorist attacks. California Dreaming has returned – and Washington, Oregon (maybe), Wyoming, Colorado (definitely), and Nevada (perhaps) are on my list of places to relocate to before winter sets in on the East Coast. I am sick of the South, tired of the East, and fed up with living in small, medium, and large cities. The crime, the people, the laws, the pollution, the bullshit…I’m simply fed up! Now I understand why so many go off the grid forever. I can truly understand why there are hermits and recluses. I long to be one. This is why I’ve been doing a lot of research into living off the land and the grid, except for free WiFi and cell phone use in order to keep in touch with family (I have no friends, thank the Goddess).

Most of the land out West is owned by the federal government and under the administration of the Bureau of Land Management, another one of our friendly government’s Gestapo agencies. This BLM (unlike the more recently founded one) is not on your side, even though we taxpayers are the reason they exist these days. The BLM is a terrorist organization so, if you are out camping and you hike in an area they say is off limits, even though there was no sign alerting hikers that it’s forbidden, you can be fined as much as $275 if not more. The BLM can seize your land, your cattle, your horses, your cozy little cabin in the woods even – because it’s part of the Fed Gov and that’s that. (It’s happened.) A lot of Americans actually squat on BLM land, it’s actually quite doable, and far safer than being on the streets of some urban jungle. My fiance and I plan to make a go of it later this year.

In the meantime, enjoy these breathtaking pictures of Western beauty; you’ll see why I’m so smitten.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

